PSC: FCT, Ekiti, Adamawa, Imo, Six Others Get New Police Commissioners – Sixt-Media Lane Consult


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the appointment of Mr. Beneath Igwe as the new Commissioner of Police (CP) for the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Police Command, along with the postings of nine other CPs to various state commands.

The announcement, made on Wednesday by the PSC spokesperson, Ikechukwu Ani, follows the recent promotion of 14 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCP) to the rank of Commissioner.

Before his appointment as FCT Police Commissioner, Mr. Igwe served as the Commander of the FCT Special Intervention Squad, appointed on January 17 by Inspector-General of Police, Olukayode Egbetokun.

The newly appointed state Commissioners of Police include Peter Opara, now posted to Osun State; Olughemiga Adesina to Benue State; Akinwale Adeniran to Ekiti State Command; and Mohammed Abba to Adamawa State Command.

Additionally, Abaniwonda Olufemi has been posted to the Delta State Command; Ademola Ayilara, formerly DCP State CID Lagos Command, now leads the Akwa Ibom State Command; David Iloyanomon, former DCP Administration Anambra State Command, heads the Taraba State Command; Abayomi Peter takes over the Ondo State Command; and Hassan Yabnet is now CP of the Plateau State Command.

The Chairman of the PSC, Dr. Solomon Arase, advised the new CPs to focus on rebuilding public trust through robust partnerships with the public.

He stressed that the Commission would not tolerate any excuses for failure in providing effective and efficient leadership.

Dr. Arase assured the new Commissioners of the Commission’s support but cautioned them not to take the security of lives and property in their jurisdictions for granted

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *