Confusion As ECOWAS Lifts Various Sanctions On Niger, Mali, Guinea, Says It’s On Humanitarian Grounds – Sixt-Media Lane Consult


The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has resolved to lift economic sanctions on Niger Republic, Mali and Guinea.

The resolution was taken at the extraordinary summit on the peace, political and security situation in the ECOWAS sub-region in Abuja on Saturday.

The regional bloc, however, said the political and targeted sanctions remain.

Full list of sanctions lifted by ECOWAS on Niger Republic

1. Closure of Land and air borders between ECOWAS and Niger Republic lifted.

2. Institution of ECOWAS no flight zone to all commercial flights to and fro Niger Republic lifted.

3. Suspension of all commercial and financial transactions between ECOWAS member states and Niger Republic lifted.

4. Freezing of all service transactions including energy transactions lifted.

5. Freezing of assets of Niger Republic in all ECOWAS Central banks lifted.

6. Freezing of all Niger State and the state enterprises and Parastatals in commercial banks lifted.

7. Suspension of Niger Republic from all financial assistance and transactions with all financial institutions lifted.

8. Imposition of travel bans on the military officials and their families involved in the coup attempt including anyone who accepts to take a position in the military government lifted.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *